Guest reviews and comments

J & V, Northants 11-18 September 2021

We would have scored 10 stars if we could. The property and location is gorgeous, the pictures make it look amazing because it is! Thank you.

…and from the visitors’ book:

We have had a wonderful stay. Le Courty is such a fantastic location. We have been lucky to have wonderful weather to relax by the pool – and some great days out, too. Thank you Mark and Annette for letting us stay in this little piece of paradise. We hope to return soon

R & Y, Rotterdam, Netherlands 4-11 September 2021

This house is a gem, very private, beautiful pool and even the very nice pictures don’t do it justice. Annette and Mark are great hosts, around when needed and give you a welcoming and comfortable feeling. The area is beautiful and laid back.

C & J, Lille, France 14-21 August 2021

Un moment merveilleux. Un repos bien faisant. Le Courty est un lieu delicieux. Merci pour votre accueil et votre bienveillance.

A wonderful time. A good rest. Le Courty is a delightful place. Thank you for your welcome and your kindness.

A & G, Nantes, France 7-14 August 2021

“We had come to seek peace and rest, this house is perfect! You never tire of the view of the vineyards. Annette and Mark are very welcoming. The villa is very well equipped, the swimming pool very pleasant! We highly recommend for a stay for 2!”

“Nous étions venus chercher de la tranquillité et du repos, cette maison est parfaite ! La vue sur les vignes on ne s’en lasse pas. Annette et Mark sont très accueillants. La villa est très bien équipée, la piscine très agréable! Nous recommandons vivement pour un séjour à 2!”

L & M, Utrecht, Netherlands 31 July-7 August 2021

We enjoyed our stay in Le Courty very much. Made some great trips with our bikes. The villa with the garden and swimming pool is really fantastic!

M & R, Amsterdam, Netherlands 24-31 July 2021

“Hard to put into words how great this place is if you’re looking to get away from it all. The setting is picture postcard idyllic, with stunning vineyard views, and in the distance yellow fields of sunflowers. There’s plenty to see and do in the area, though you could be forgiven if you just stayed put and relaxed by the wonderful private pool, sipping a glass of wine while taking in the peace and quiet and that vista. Annette and Mark are the most amazing hosts, there to help with almost anything if you need it, otherwise happy to leave you to enjoy the paradise they’ve created. The bed is large and comfortable, amenities are fantastic, and an awesome welcome pack with lot’s of goodies was the icing on the cake! I could go on, but frankly am running out of superlatives. Stop looking now and book this place, you won’t regret it!”

…and from the visitors’ book:

Fantastic stay in a beautiful place. Thanks Annette and Mark. What you have created here is truly amazing, congratulations! Hard to put into words how great a stay we had. Hope to see you again soon.

K & C, Brussels, Belgium 17-24 July 2021

It was just wow! A timeless world, restful, calm, an idyllic setting. The pool and garden have been our best friends this week. Thank you for the welcome and thank you for making our vacation so peaceful! We will come back, without a doubt.

C’etait just waw! Un monde hors du temps, un repos, un calme, un cadre idyllique. La piscine et le jardin ont ete nos meilleurs amis durant cette semaine. Merci pour l’acceuil et merci d’avoir rendu nos vacance si paisible! On reviendra, il n’y a pas de doute.

…and from the visitors’ book:

“In one word : WAW, an incredible place with wonderful hosts. From far one of the best place we went, calm and relaxing, like perfection everything is in the details. We will surely come back! I TOTALLY recommend.”

D & R, Yorkshire 26 June-11 July 2021

Well the weather was like Filey! So as we haven’t been in the pool, we will return. The only warmth felt was from the hospitality of our SUPERHOSTS!! Thank you so much for a great time as always.

D & V, Cazals, France 5-19 June 2021

2018, 19, 20, 21. We have never returned anywhere four years in a row! I think that says it all. Thanks again. We are already looking forward to next year.

D & J, West Sussex 14-21 September 2019

We have had a lovely relaxing week here. A beautiful property in lovely surroundings. I love the pagoda, always a shade from the sun. We couldn’t have had better weather either. Thank you Annette and Mark.

J & A, Hertfordshire 24-31 August 2019

Thank you for letting us share your perfect hideaway. We have had the most relaxing week. A beautiful place in our most favourite of countrysides.

J & K, Cheltenham 3-17 August 2019

Paradise! We’ve had the most incredible honeymoon in this beautiful villa. Mark and Annette, THANK YOU for everything — the canoeing was fantastic. Can’t wait to return…

C & M, Avon 20-27 July 2019

Back for our third visit — thank you so much for this beautiful, relaxing place.

W & M, West Midlands 29 June-6 July 2019

Absolutely fabulous! We’ve had a wonderful week and thank you for everything, especially for our canoeing trip!

D & V, Cazals, France 15-29 June 2019

Thank you for another delightful stay. We were right, two weeks is better! See you next year.

A & R, Suffolk 8-15 June 2019

Lovely villa, lovely hosts, lovely rest, shame about the weather! Hopefully that will improve now we’re leaving… X

E & H, London 3-8 June 2019

What an idyllic spot to switch off for our honeymoon. We only wish it could have been two weeks. Thank you to Mark and Annette — and for nurse help! With love, Mr & Mrs J!!

P & S, Sydney, Australia 22-26 September 2018

Lovely place. Very relaxing. Thank you.

D & R, Yorkshire 1-15 September 2018

Another wonderful relaxing holiday!!! Thank you both so much for working your magic! Leaving with yet more memories to keep us going until next time.

D & P, Kent 4-18 August 2018

Two weeks of pure bliss! Mark and Annette, you truly have found a piece of paradise on earth — thank you for sharing it with us.

C & R, Bedfordshire 21 July-4 August 2018

Thank goodness we booked this little piece of heaven for 2 weeks. The thought of having to leave after only one would have been too painful to bear!! Quite frankly — we’ve loved every minute: total relaxation! Swimming, cycling, painting, reading, drinking, eating — we’ve loved it all. Annette and Mark, you’ve been fabulous — incredibly unobtrusive but always there when needed. And your wonderful supper on arrival was so much appreciated! Thank you!!

L & F, Suffolk 14-21 July 2018

Don’t want to go home! Everything lovely. A great wind-down peaceful place. Many thanks Mark and Annette. Loved the pineau visit.

N & A, Yorkshire 7-14 July 2018

Very relaxing stay. Thanks for looking after us M&A. Madame Pouilloux was charming. The best meal we had was in Saintes at La Mousardière. 

T & L, Surrey 30 June-7 July 2018

Not sure if football is coming home yet, but we’re sad to be going home. Another lovely stay, with fantastic hosts. Much fun had. Until next time!

D & V, Cazals, France 23-30 June 2018

Thank you for a delightful stay. Two weeks would have been better!!

R & F, Yorkshire 16-22 June 2018

Second visit to this gem of a house. Already looking forward to another stay in a couple of years’ time! Thank you Mark and Annette, perfect hosts!

C & E, East Sussex 16-23 September 2017

A truly peaceful, relaxing place. We have enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and the wonderfully appointed villa. Luxury inside and out. Another week would be even better, but I am sure we’ll save that for another time. We have been all over France during the past 30+ years, but have missed this area. We’ll come again.

P & A, Pembrokeshire 12-16 September 2017

Thank you for a perfect little break. Your attention to detail in the villa made it extremely comfortable. Annette and Mark are fantastic hosts, who want to make sure that the holiday experience is perfect. Would definitely like to return.

F & A, Edinburgh 26 August-2 September 2017

We’d seen the website…We knew what to expect, right? Wrong! Words can’t describe the feeling of total and utter relaxation achieved within minutes of our arrival. As if the surrounding vineyards didn’t provide sufficient ambience, Annette and Mark have improved on nature by creating an oasis of calm and tranquility. ‘Hospitality’ could be defined by our hosts’ attention to detail and generosity. The villa itself is meticulously planned and provides a tranquil haven where we felt at home for the all-too short week we spent here… Fabulous…!

J & J, London 19-26 August 2017

What a wonderful haven you two have created. We arrived feeling crumpled and rumpled and leave feeling shiny and bouncy. We’ve loved…jumping in the pool like kids while Dean Martin sang his heart out on the speaker in the cabana; we’ve loved…driving along empty roads flanked by ‘ladies in dresses bowing their heads’ (aka sunflowers); we’ve loved sharing a few glasses of rosé cremant watching the sun go down on the vines; we’ve loved watching the busy hornets from the bedroom window. We’ve loved a lot!

D & L, Qatar 5-19 August 2017

Lovely house, lovely spot, amazing views. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality — fab hosts!

P & P, Cornwall 22-29 July 2017

Our last 2 days have brought back all our lovely memories of last year. Unique and very much appreciated.

R & A, London 9-15 July 2017

Thank you so much for such a magical stay. After a year of wedding organisation it was so special to spend our honeymoon in your villa. We will recommend it to all our friends. Something we’ll never forget, that’s for sure.

F & L, Ipswich 15 to 22 July 2017

“Idyllic setting, totally luxurious in every way. The attention to detail such as the incredible lighting everywhere and top notch pool is second to none. Wonderful hosts who will do ANYTHING for you but are not obtrusive. Superb base for visiting both the coast and local area. We really could not fault the place which had everything you could possibly think of in the villa. Annette does a lovely welcome pack which is so personal and touching and she even gave me the recipe for her tapenade! Totally peaceful and relaxing without feeling isolated – it is only a short walk into the village.”
 

P & S, Woodhouse Eaves 10-17 June 2017

We have had a wonderful time chilling out for a week to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The villa is beautiful with so much thought and detail and hard work put into it. Mark and Annette, perfect hosts, nothing too much trouble, even had a clean car!! So glad you reached your dream together and long may they continue – you really are each other’s ying and yang! We will be back again – very soon.

C & S, Dorset 2-10 June 2017

We are so sad to be leaving such a heavenly place. We have fallen in love with the Charente and you both have been so kind to us. We shall miss this place enormously.

A fabulous 50th gift from my parents – very very spoiling. An amazing villa – you are both incredibly talented – hope to see you again.

R & F, Leeds 10-24 September 2016

Love the villa and the peaceful surroundings, just what the holiday doctor ordered! Very enjoyable two-week wine and cheese fest!

M & S, Cornwall 3-10 September 2016

Thank you Mark and Annette for providing this oasis of tranquility. Your attention to detail in the villa has made this week perfect!

P, London 27 August-3 September 2016

Even though staying in unexpected circumstances, a dream holiday in a magnificent gite! Thanks for some brilliant advice – a week to savour!

E & S, Oxfordshire 20-27 August 2016

Thank you for a lovely stay, you really have thought of everything! Perfect!

H & D, London 13-20 August 2016

Thank you so much for such a wonderful week. You are wonderful hosts and we now feel very relaxed!

C & D, Birmingham 30 July-13 August 2016

Loved the peace and the solitude. Very kind hosts — thank you! Top end.

T & L, Surrey 23-30 July 2016

We returned! And hope to do so again. Another lovely, peaceful stay with great weather. Thank you!

P & P, Cornwall 16-23 July 2016

The villa lived up to every expectation. For 2 old codgers it was heaven on earth. May we return please? Thank you both for providing sangria for 2…actually it’s Shangri-la!

T & M, New York, USA 9-16 July 2016

Thank you so much for the hospitality. Your beautiful villa was the perfect destination to be in peace and quiet for the honeymoon. Hope to see you soon.

D & R, Yorkshire 25 June-9 July 2016

Another year, another season, but just as lovely! Thank you so much. Hope to see you both soon!

L & P, Suffolk 4-11 June 2016

What a beautiful villa, and perfectly equipped with everything we could need. An absolute haven of peace and tranquility. Thank you so much.

G & A, Kent 21-29 May 2016

Thank you for a great, relaxing week in your lovely villa. The house is fabulous with a luxury finish and we were very, very comfortable, even though the weather could have been a tad kinder! But we leave totally relaxed and rested, ready to face the next stage of our house project. Back in the southeast I know I will long for the complete tranquility, lack of road noise and constant birdsong. Many thanks.

T & L, Surrey 22-31 October 2015

Thank you so much for a fantastic, (very) relaxing stay in this beautiful part of France. And for the great restaurant recommendations! We hope to return…

D & R, Yorkshire 29 August-12 September 2015

Thank you so much for yet another great stay. Leaving far more rested than when we arrived!! Hope so much that we get to come back again soon!

B & D, Norwich 15-29 August 2015

Idyllic. We wanted peace and quiet in a villa with quality facilities and this is exactly what we got. Surrounded by vine fields this is a quiet hamlet. A former pig sty (hard to believe) Mark & Annette have transformed the building and environs into a wonderful place to stay. Private garden and a wonderful salt water pool complete the facilities. The hosts are caring and guide you thoughtfully and with knowledge of the local area. We had a wonderful two week stay.

…and from the visitors’ book:

Thank you for our idyllic holiday. A beautiful villa and you’ve been so helpful, which has made our holiday.

S & K, Kent 25 July-1 August 2015

K & S, Kent 25 July-1 August 2015

We stayed at Le Courty for our honeymoon and it was perfect. Mark and Annette were amazing hosts, recommending excellent restaurants, places to visit and helping us to book things as we speak very little French. Le Courty has everything you could ever need and has been beautifully decorated. We could relax by our own private pool and enjoy views of the surrounding countryside in this peaceful hamlet, and it’s good location meant it was a short drive to nearby villages and places of interest. Despite a few days of bad weather we had a great time and would love to visit again!

…and from the visitors’ book:

Thank you so much for having us at Le Courty. You have been fantastic hosts. After a wet couple of days we were glad to be able to relax by the pool in such a beautiful setting. The restaurant recommendations have been excellent and Annette’s olive tapenade was delicious! You have both been so helpful and we have wanted for nothing! We’d love to come again!

S & M, West Midlands 11-18 July 2015

Thank you for a lovely week. Couldn’t have felt any more relaxed. Thanks for everything!

R & P, West Midlands 4-11 July 2015

A lovely spot and a very relaxing week after a busy year. The most complete ‘package’ we could ask for! Many thanks.

J & N, Devon 20-27 June 2015

We have had an awesome week, thank you Mark and Annette. Perfect villa, perfect pool, and perfect location. Brilliant way to round off our honeymoon after a few days in Paris. See you next year!

A & D, Warwickshire 6 – 13 June 2015

Thank you for allowing us to share this very special home that you have created in this wonderful location.

C & A, Hampshire 23 – 30 May 2015

A beautiful villa with stunning views. We have had an amazing holiday and are already planning our return trip! Thank you Mark and Annette!

R & A, Hampshire 26 April – 12 May 2015

Another happy, if a little wet, stay at Le Courty. Thank you Mark and Annette for being such lovely hosts. (Don’t forget to freeze your oysters!)

R & A, Hampshire 24 September – 7 October 2014

We have had such a happy time here. We love the Villa and you have made it so comfortable and so charming; it will be very difficult to say good-bye!

D & R, Yorkshire 30 August – 13 September 2014

Thank you so very much for sharing your piece of heaven! We have had a wonderful time enjoying the peace and tranquility – have enjoyed lunch at La Verte Ostrea, Port de la Cayenne, Marennes, 05 46 85 36 00, and Le Relais des Salines, Port des Salines, 05 46 75 82 42. Better to book! Wonderful memories to keep us going until the next time!

L & S, Birmingham 23-30 August 2014

We have had an absolutely brilliant honeymoon — so relaxing in the lovely villa. Thank you so much for being perfect hosts and especially for the canoeing — we had a wonderful time.

J & K, Warrington 16-23 August 2014

We have had a fantastic week here — a beautiful place with incredible views and privacy. We absolutely loved the kayaking down the river — thank you so much! It has made our honeymoon — fond memories!

M & H, Surrey 9 – 16 August 2014

Thank you for a wonderful week, the villa is beautiful and you have been great hosts. Weather aside, we have had the perfect holiday! Hope to return soon…

J & K, Edinburgh 26 July – 9 August 2014

Amazing place & terrific holiday! You really are the perfect hosts, providing total privacy and on-hand assistance if required. Thank you so much!!

R & G, Edinburgh 26 July 2014

A very relaxed and enjoyable holiday. Great facilities at Le Villa and good local amenities. Recommend visits to Cognac, La Rochelle and Pons. Nice food at both local restaurants.

L & K, Belgium 28 June – 12 July 2014

Fantastic place. We had a wonderful time. Thank you both for your wonderful hospitality and putting up with us and the football. Looking forward to the next visit.

N & J, Netherlands 14-21 June 2014

This is a fantastic holiday home! You have made the ‘impossible’ possible. Hats off for what you have created here…a little piece of paradise…a gem of a place…a bit of Bali in France…c’est merveilleux! Thanks for being amazing hosts…we would come back any time.

E & P, St Albans 24 May 2014

We had a fantastic stay in your beautiful villa, enjoying all the little luxuries and the amazing view! Thank you for your hospitality. Wish we could stay another week!!

 

Date of review: 22 September 2013; date of stay: 1 September 2013

Fantastic villa in a very relaxing setting

A perfect place to escape for a holiday. The villa itself is absolutely stunning, well equipped with everything you could think of and some luxurious details. The private pool and garden area are beautifully maintained and set in secluded surroundings with gorgeous views. Dinner and wine in the pavilion was a great way to end the day, taking in the peaceful sunsets. Lovely hosts with really helpful suggestions about local things to do. There are plenty of ways to spend days out nearby, but we found it hard to leave the deck chairs by the pool – though the oysters at Ile d’Oleron are definitely worth a try! Overall this is a great place to spend a holiday, we felt completely looked after throughout and we would definitely recommend it!

Date of review: 24 September 2013; date of stay: 17 August

Wonderful luxury break

Le Courty was a wonderful luxury break for us this August. Villa and pool are just beautiful, superbly equipped with fine attention to detail. Although secluded on a rise overlooking stretches of vineyards, Le Courty is within walking distance of the local village. We took a stroll through the vineyards and fields of sunflowers to buy our baguettes and croissants there each morning. The village has a couple of restaurants, but we chose to barbecue and eat by the pool most evenings, enjoying the beauty and tranquility of the surroundings. Absolutely recommended!

Date of review: 16 August 2013; date of stay:8 August 2013

Stunning villa in an equally stunning setting

The Villa at Le Courty is amazing! The facilities are first class with everything you need and more. The villa is totally private but the owners are available with information and advice should you need it. There is plenty to see and do within the Charente Maritime area should you want to tear yourself away from the tranquility of the pool and views from the infinity garden at Le Courty. We recommend a visit to Ile d’OLeron where you can buy the very best oysters. La Rochelle is within easy driving distance and a visit to Cognac is a must. The Villa at Le Courty is a truly luxurious, relaxing place to spend your holiday and we will definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Date of review:  6 July 2013; date of stay:  22 June 2013

Beautiful views, peaceful, lovely villa

Absolutely as described and more, everything you could want as a home from home. Not the usual basic items found in holiday rentals, the owners have thought of everything you could want and prepared to get anything you need. Spotlessly clean including lovely towels a and bed linen. The owners carry out daily pool and garden maintenance very discretely but are there for a chat if you want. We had never been to the region before and the owners were very helpful in providing information on places to go, also made us up a list if recommended restaurants. Weather wasn’t in our favour but we managed to visit most of the large towns and their traditional markets, Coastal towns, also smaller towns on the Gironde estuary, our favourite place was Ile de re. Our mistake was not being aware of the French country way of life, closing during the day and very limited evening times kept by restaurants and bars. Also didn’t prepare for total closing on Sundays and very limited Monday’s. That was our fault and we were veer appreciative of the wonderful welcome pack put together for us. Overall a wonderful relaxing holiday and enjoyed the beautiful pool when the weather allowed. Would highly recommend to friends and family who want a chilled out relaxing time away from a busy work and home life.

Date of review: 29 July 2013; date of stay: 13 May 2013

Beautiful villa in a beautiful part of the world

We stayed at Le Courty earlier this year and were blown away by both the villa and the beautiful setting. Surrounded by rolling fields and Cognac vines, with barely a car in sight, we really did feel like we had escaped from it all. The villa itself was stunning and truly unique, but totally practical. It was clean and well-maintained throughout. Everything is exactly as described in the listing and we were particularly impressed by the incredibly high standard of finish, despite the rustic charm. The kitchen is well equipped for self-catering and we did pop down to the bakery on the (kindly provided) bikes for morning croissants on a couple of occasions. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom is absolutely huge! The outdoor shower is a special treat as an alternative start to the day! There’s plenty to do nearby, if you’re feeling energetic and want to explore the area. We borrowed bikes and had a lovely ride through the countryside to Pons one day, but mostly we were happy to relax around the pool and the villa, reading and taking in the amazing scenery. The pool is solar heated, which isn’t mentioned in the listing. The owners were friendly but not intrusive and we felt well looked after throughout our stay. We would definitely recommend Le Courty to anybody looking for a bit of luxury and tranquility in the French countryside.

Date of review: 19 February 2013 Date of stay: 23 June 2012

Beautiful villa…stunning location

We stayed at Le Courty and absolutely loved it! It’s a beautiful villa in a stunning location. If you love luxury combined with total privacy and country side…..this is the place to be.

From the visitors’ book:

24-31 August 2013

What a fantastic villa in a superb setting – a little bit of luxury! Every aspect has been perfect, from the warm welcome, the extensive welcome treat (we are now hooked on Pineau des Charentes!) and everything we could possibly need in the villa. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and sharing with us part of your dream. We will definitely be back soon.

S & S, Northampton.

17-24 August 2013

The villa is magnificent, with every tiny detail thought through and so many echoes of Indonesia:- Bali en Charente!! Thanks for your wonderful hospitality during our stay. It’s been great to spend time in such a beautiful and relaxing setting.

N & K, Surrey.

29 July-6 August 2013

A luxury gem of a place to stay in our favourite French area of Charente-Maritime. You have built this wonderful house with love and care and equipped it exceptionally well. A combination of the beautiful, peaceful, relaxing location along with the sunny weather has meant we have not meandered far! We leave rested with lovely memories – thank you for making us feel so welcome and being such lovely hosts – we will surely return.

C & T, Meanwood, W. Yorks.

14 July 2013

A wonderful week of wining, dining and relaxing – thank you. We love what you have done here – be back soon.

V & I, Adelaide, Australia.

22 June – 4 July 2013

You should both be very proud of such a beautiful home. A lovely setting, very warm welcome and a lovely stay.

C & C, Bexleyheath.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s